New Year, New Workout 

I will be thirty this year and maintaining my weight has been easy before now. Four kids and a sedentary lifestyle have taken their toll. I can not let it continue to. My once DD’s are now J. My once size 14 hips are now 22.

new-year-newworkout

I cut red meat and have been eating fish and chicken for a few weeks. I have started making salads daily. I also skipped the candy canes and chocolate for Christmas. About a week ago I started working out while watching tv instead of laying on the couch. Even now I am telling Siri to write this instead of sitting and typing.

My kids have even joined me. Squats, crunches, push-ups, running With 4 kids in toe has been difficult but determination will solve all problems.

Squats: while doing laundry, to the mailbox, my kids thought mommy was funny at first but now they are trying to do them too. Even the 2 yr old tries and mostly sits down (it’s super cute though).

img_0843

Crunches: while watching my grey’s anatomy or game of thrones, with baby while nursing(yes I nurse my two year old).

Push-ups: this usually goes badly. My littlest climbs on my back every time he sees me get in push up position, but the other three get right next to me and try.

Running: this one is the hardest. They don’t make 4 seat jogging strollers, so I pretty much jog (mostly in place) trying to get them to keep up. The boys are great but my daughter is very spoiled and always tells me how tired she is. Eventually she will run for a little bit but then she starts the scream crying. I keep trying though the hope is eventually she will run with me.

4922e71f-6433-4cdd-b767-ed05f14d23eb
What does your workout look like? How do you overcome your hinderences? What’s your favorite healthy food?

2 comments

  1. Congratulations on your decision to move toward a healthier you and family. It is a hard decision and even harder to stick to it. I have been doing the same since May 2016. It is a slow process. It sounds like you have a good workout plan. I do a variety. One day it is kettle bells, another day it is resistance bands, another day it is yoga, then calisthenics and then treadmill twice a week. My favorite indulgence is skinny pop popcorn every night. I look forward it to it every day and make sure I save a few calories so I can indulge. Make sure to treat yourself and don’t be too hard on yourself if you get to the point where your energy is low and you skip a workout. If you just stick to it, then an occasional lapse won’t hurt anything. Good luck on your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Reply here